Arizona Has Horses!

20120115-130800.jpg

Sunday was my first time visiting the Single Star Ranch. It’s about 30 minutes from the base… it’s also about 2 miles from the Mexico border. YIKES! I can see the bordering fence from the ranch. Border Patrol is hot and heavy in those parts.

20120115-130807.jpg

We first stopped to feed and work with a herd of yearlings. They haven’t been handled very much at all, but they’re nice enough to let you pet them. Babies aren’t really my “thing” — but it was still nice to be around horses.

20120115-130818.jpg

This is the momma donkey, Ruby!! She’s like a big dog.

20120115-130827.jpg

And this is the baby donkey, ‘Chocolate Drop.’ He’s hilarious. He looks like he has big leg warmers on.

20120115-130839.jpg

20120115-130846.jpg

20120115-130851.jpg

As you can tell, I loved taking pictures of the babies. 😀

It was so nice to be around horses. I wish I could find a place to ride out here though. I emailed a trainer up in Tucson, so hopefully she’ll let me. But for now, I’m just as happy petting and volunteering with the rescue horses.

Once I got back to my room, the internet was STILL down. So frustrating. So I went and ran 5 miles. Later I rented The Secretariet. I can’t believe I hadn’t seen that movie before. It was fantastic.

I also dove into a tub of Ben & Jerry’s Red Velvet Cake Ice Cream. YUM! It’s pretty much the equivalent of heaven.

XO

Paisley

Leave a Reply

