Fitness, It’s What I Do.

I love to read. I love words. I love grammar. I love writing. I love magazines. I love newspaper. I love books.

I love it all.

I even love Fitness magazines. They’re motivating. Educational. Interesting. And just plain old fun — especially when you’re cranking out 30 minutes on a cardio machine. I used to subscribe to a few of them, but stopped. I never had time for “fun/pleasure reading” when I was in college.

Well… Now I do! And it’s fabulous!

A few weeks ago I picked up a Cosmo. It was fun to read. Shocking at times. Kind of embarrassing to read certain pages in the gym. But still fun. This week I got a copy of Fitness.

So, everyone is well aware of my sleeping issue. It takes me sometimes HOURS to fall asleep. I’m just not very good at it. I’m one of those people that can function on a low amount of it. But, I notice that I feel way better when I get at least 7 hours, naturally. Fitness posted an interesting article on the negative effects of sleep deprivation. I found some of them shocking.

Fun fact… Vermont ranks as the healthiest place to live. California is 24th on this list. You’d think we’d up our game considering all the beautiful weather we have year round!

Question: How do you get excited/motivated to work out? Do you need a specific event/goal to work towards, ie: wedding, vacation, high school reunion? New gear? A mental escape? Social? Do you rock old high school T-shirts? Or the newest Lucy tank? Do you wear a watch? Use an iPod?

I have my system pretty dialed in…

1. I can’t rock the baggy T-shirt. I’ve tried, believe me. They get all sloppy, hot and just wrong. I ran a mud run in October and got this cool orange shirt from the race. The next day I was so excited to wear it to CrossFit. 1/2 way through the workout, the shirt was off and I was working out in a sports bra. If you know me, you know that this is a very, very rare occurrence (sports-bra-sexiness-in-the-gym), but it was a necessity. From there on I decided that tight, fitted shirts were the only way for me.

Source

2. Headbands. I’ve been yelled at too many times for fixing my hair. Bobby pins don’t always cut it either. A good, tight, sticky headband is always in my gym bag. I hate feeling hair against my face. I could never be one of those girls who runs/works out with their hair down. I shudder just thinking about it.

Source

3. Music is a MUST. I’ve been known to skip the gym if I forgot my headphones. Listen to myself breathe? No thank you! I love the feeling of working really hard with music blaring. Black Eyed Peas, anyone?

4. A plan. I can’t go to the gym without knowing what I’m going to do. I write it down and then bring it with me. It keeps me accountable too. If I leave the gym having altered or skipped something on my list — I kind of feel bad about myself. I feel like I let myself down. I’ve never been able to be one of those that just shows up at the gym and figures it out as they go. Not my style. I’m a list maker. Give me a list and I’ll check it off. Plus, who wants to dilly-dally around and waste time thinking about what to do next in the sweaty gym? Not this girl!

5. Blog about it. Although I’m a baby to the blogging world, blogging about my life has helped keep me accountable to my fitness and nutrition goals. If I know I’m going to blog about it later, I am sure to make it count. I want to write about a great work out later on — not a slacking “I planned on 5 rounds, but only did 2” kind of thing.

6. Beautiful scenery. Although the gym is great for quick fitness, I have to get outside. I love running because I can explore different areas and neighborhoods. Or trails. I have ran several 1/2 marathons and I picked them solely on their location, aka: scenic runs. I like slathering on sun block and then getting lost in the outdoors. It’s relaxing, refreshing and plain old good for the soul!

XO

AP

Leave a Reply

