Hump It Day

Happy Hump Day!!

First… Let’s just talk about how cute, no… FREAKING adorable this kid is!!! My mom (Mume) watches her every Wednesday and I get sporatic picture messages from her throughout the day. This is Kenzlee, my niece, in all her cuteness. (1.5 years old) By the way, she’s wearing Joe’s jeans. No big deal.

20120307-171335.jpg

And then it gets even better… Kenzlee + Comet !?!?!?! No way. Check the jeans… I have jean envy of a one-year-old. Great.

20120307-171341.jpg

Wednesday in Arizona was WIIIIIIIINDY. And I mean like more windy than I can describe to my California lovers. This wind is no joke. I was trying to stand up and it was virtually impossible. I kept stumbling cause it was that strong. AZ wind doesn’t mess around.

I pretty much felt like this — the entire day. (And I wanted an excuse to put up dog pictures.)

But coming back from a ruck march with something like this staring in your face…

Remember how I had to make up my own quinoa slow cooker recipe? Well, it worked. Magically. I’m pretty much a quinoa cooking ninja.

20120307-171349.jpg

It was just the way I like it. And it even smelled good when I woke up in the morning!

Slow Cooker Quinoa

  • 1 cup dry quinoa
  • 2 cups liquid (I used 1 cup water & 1 cups coconut milk)
  • Cinnamon
  1. Place all ingredients into slow cooker.
  2. Cover, cook on low for 6(ish) hours.
  3. Enjoy the magic. Be sure to transfer it straight to a tupperware/refrigerator if you’re not going to eat it right away. Otherwise it will stick to the crock pot and it’s a little harder to clean. Yes, I learned the hard way.

After marveling at my quinoa cooking skills. And ruck marching… I came back to make my first crock pot meal. Can you tell I’m a teeny, tiny bit excited about this new appliance of mine? I mean come on, I’m stuck on an Army base… it’s the little things.

I threw a chopped sweet potato and a few chopped carrots into the slow cooker. 20120307-171404.jpg

Then added some chicken. 20120307-171415.jpgAnd 1/2 a can of chicken broth.

20120307-171503.jpg And a dash (or a blob) of garlic. Set the cooker on low and set out to make this salad genius: arugula, strawberries, goat cheese, nut mix, quinoa and goddess dressing.

20120307-171510.jpg I ate this along with a red naked juice on our way to the terrain walk (yes, another one). And I’m officially in love with quinoa. I’m going to find every excuse to put it on everything. Just like almond butter, watch me.

The class met at this park. In the wind. It was interesting. 20120307-171521.jpg And off we went… Walking.

20120307-171527.jpg We stopped about 6 times to discuss each area. We are studying urban terrain. 20120307-171541.jpg It was great to be outside for most of the day — despite the wind. I’ll take a day outside instead of the classroom. In fact, I’ll even take the wind! I had to snap this picture because low and behold… that is real, LIVE grass. Yes people, that shit is green. And I was in shock. 20120307-171536.jpg hahahaha… I should probably stop this now. But I’m in love with this street sign. And I can’t believe I found it in Sierra Vista. 20120307-171551.jpg

Dear SV, Fab Ave is an awesome street name. Way to go.

The rest of the afternoon was BUSY. Busy. BUSY. I like it that way though. It makes the days go by so much faster.

After class I rushed home to devour my chicken and sweet potato. And let me tell you… it was magical. Just like my quinoa. But better. It was warm. Pretty much can’t go wrong with chicken, carrots and sweet potatoes.

Conclusion: Slow cooker = best purchase. Best $10 I’ve ever spent.

After eating I decided to go a little crazy and do this workout:

I’ve been fighting with my hair lately. It’s SUUUUPER long right now and is awkward. It’s way too much in a pony tail. I literally eat my hair if I try to run with a pony tail. And it falls out of a bun. And it bops all around in a messy bun which just looks ridiculous… BECAUSE it’s so long.

So… The braid was born!

20120307-200855.jpg

Definitely a fan as I rocked out in my hotel gym. After running here two times this week — I think I could consider myself a treadmill runner? Maybe? And I’m also thinking that owning my own treadmill wouldn’t be a terrible idea. Just a thought.

20120307-200901.jpg

Post workout I snacked on this:

20120307-200908.jpg

And a mini vanilla/cinnamon/coconut milk protein shake. YUM!

Try this: Add cinnamon to your protein shake the next time you do a hard workout. Or, add lemons to your water instead of Crystal Light or other fake sweeteners!

XO

Paisley

One thought on “Hump It Day

  1. Pingback: Why Do I? | armypaisley

Leave a Reply

