End of Combatives!

It’s interesting how things can change DRAMATICALLY when a few people speak up. With that, the last day of combatives was fantastic. No tears. No dislocated shoulders. Just good ol’ training — just the way it should be.

Today was the last day that I had to wake up at 4am for combatives. I can’t even begin to tell you how exciting this is. An extra hour of sleep, yes please!! I joked with the class that’s ahead of me; “Oh stop complaining… it’s only one less hour.” No joke, that one hour makes a huuuuuuuge difference. I was telling a Captain today that nowadays 3:00pm feels a lot like 6pm to me. And therefore I’m completely exhausted by the time I get home.

20120405-115243.jpg And bruised. Gross.

Today SR told me: (the blog world, actually)

I need this constant reminder. It’s okay to take a pass. But it’s also important to kick my own butt.

Workout Plan (Suuuuper late, I know)

Mon: Rest – done.

Tue: 3 miles – done.

Wed: 6 miles – done.

Th: 4 miles

Fri: 12 miles

Sat: Shopping with MommaG!!!! (Hotel CrossFit?)

Sun: Repeat Saturday, with the addition of the bringing a wine glass to my mouth motion. Research shows you burn like 538,324 calories doing this exercise.

Last night was more combatives. I only watched because I’m not getting certified. But everyone who was had to fight off these guys…

20120405-115248.jpg

I got so nervous watching my class get slammed to the ground. But no one got knocked out. It was a success. Shocker.

20120405-115429.jpg

I ran my 6 miles last night. I didn’t finish until almost 9pm. WAY past my bedtime. I knew I was going to be able to nap in the morning though. Which I fully took advantage of.

While running on the treadmill I got an email from MommaG with these magic pieces of imagery:

20120405-115438.jpg

Hi, can I just die of cuteness now??

20120405-115450.jpg

That’s my cat Grayson. And my niece, Kenzlee… who I know through pictures and videos. Sad story.

20120405-115524.jpg

And yes, she’s helping MommaG clean stalls. And that’s Comet in the background (my first horse). We always said that we’d keep Kenzlee so the grandkids can ride/play with him… Well, here we are!

20120405-115543.jpg

And… The cuteness stops here. I was grinning from ear to ear. I’m sure everyone at the gym thought I was a goon smiling all crazy-like at my phone while running. hotttt.

Today: 

I was a busy bee allll daaaaay loooong. We have a big brief tomorrow morning and I had to accumulate all the intel from the last 4 days and come up with one slide to present tomorrow. The Captains were joking about giving me the “analyst of the day” award because I was the only one in our group (TOC) working in the afternoon. Well… so they said.

And then I repeatedly got comments like, “Wow, you’re actually working.”

When I’m doing intel stuff, I have to SEE everything. I have to roll out a map and draw all over it. Screw doctrinal symbols. I just write what I want so that I can visually see what’s going on. After that I make lists. I write it all out. This way I have a visual and word process. Read it, see it, write it. That’s my learning process. It does take time, but it’s important to me. I want to fully understand what’s going on and be able to make the best analysis/decisions based on my own research/knowledge.

Wow. I just went there with you guys. It’s a nerdy Army Intel thing. It’s okay.

Tonight: 

Laundry. ugh. —  4 mile run. — Packing!!! So excited to see my mom this weekend!

XO

AP

Leave a Reply

