There’s a reason…

Why would someone spend over $20 on a pair of workout pants? You’re just going to sweat in them.

Why would someone spend over $60 on a pair of workout pants? Because they motivate me.

Last night, I was just going to unpack my bag (yes, still packed from the weekend) and go to bed… But then I saw all my Lululemon. And then I really wanted to put it on. And then I wanted to go running. And so I did.

20120412-194811.jpg

There’s a reason people set the bar high. There’s a reason they push you. That reason is to see you succeed, learn and do better than you thought possible. That pushy-ness has been happening this week. I’ve been pushed farther than I feel comfortable with. Mentally.

For all you incoming or current BOLC students… MOD D is no joke. For me, that is. I don’t even feel like going to the gym when I get out of class. That is so not me. All I feel like doing is going home and staring at a wall. Almost. It is so draining.

But… there’s a reason I’m such a positive person. I’m hunting the good stuff tonight. I’m grateful for this week because I’ve been able to see my potential. I’m able to see all that I’ve learned over the last few months go into effect. My class is at the “run” phase and it feels great looking back at what we’ve accomplished.

Yes I only get about 10 minutes to shovel food down at lunch time. And yes I’m exhausted. And yes I can. not. wait. for the weekend to be here. But isn’t the whole point of me being here to learn and train? Well, Army, you sure got your money’s worth this week cause this soldier is trained to the MAX!!

Last year, right after I became a Lieutenant, I went through a leadership course. It was challenging. I didn’t feel comfortable speaking in front of my peers. Each day I was forced to present and/or talk about something in front of them. I, along with the rest of my classmates had to do this every day. By the end of the week I had even sung SCREAMED Happy Birthday … to MYSELF in front of them. It was mortifying. My last obstacle included presenting my leadership philosophy. I had to deliver it with excitement, motivation and a sense of dedication, etc. It was a challenge.

After everyone gave their philosophies, I was presented with the award for “most improved” — yes, it was a shake-a-weight, but still. The point is, there’s a reason people set the bar high. They see potential and want us to learn, improve and overall: succeed.

I’m fortunate to have people in my life who see the potential in me. They see the possibilities and my desire to learn.

This week has taught me a lot about myself. And for that I am grateful. Even though I hate being in a classroom for 10+ hours — it doesn’t last forever. I say this all the time, “I can do anything for 5 minutes, 5 hours and/or 5 days.” This time it was 5 days. I got this.

Tonight:

I did laundry and packing. I got the “OK” from my instructor to leave on time tomorrow. I’ll be sure to catch my 7pm flight. I can’t wait to dance the night away and celebrate Dianna and Shane getting married! I love weddings… don’t you!?!?!

XO – AP

PS: I’m so happy to be back at morning PT (no more combatives). This morning we did CrossFit inspired buddy workouts… of which involved squats. Oh my, those legs are already feelin’ it. Just wait until I’m back home… it’s going to be a very steep climb getting back to where I was. Ouch! — insert LOTS of ibuprofen!

Leave a Reply

