My Monday

Yesterday was a day of firsts for me. I cooked a real meal in my apartment. A REAL MEAL!

There was no microwaving involved, no teeny hotel counters, and no crock pot mess. It was bliss. While I was living in AZ, I longed for a real kitchen. With real cooking utensils and SPACE. I was always balancing bowls of food (and spilling them) while trying to come up with meals that only involved a crock pot or microwave. I finally have that and I couldn’t be happier about it.

Last night after CrossFit I headed to TJ’s. I tried picking a recipe on the way, but decided to wing it once I got there. While cooking I snacked on veggies and hummus. I’m in love with the 3 layer humus dip. Perfect flavor/spice combo.

image

I had a tough choice: to top a panini with roasted peppers or sun dried tomatoes. The tomatoes won.

image

Adding to yesterday’s firsts… I got to use my new grill! Mom and Dad got it for me as a house warming gift. They knew I’d use it all the time because I used theirs almost every day while I was staying with them. I’m already in love with it. THANKS MOM & DAD!!!

image

Hence my delicious dinner. Turkey, GF bread, cheese, green and sun dried tomato panini with a grilled portabello and 1/2 avocado. I love this grill because it comes with a panini ribbed style plates or smooth griddle style. I set the temperature depending on what I’m cooking. I can even cook raw chicken. At my parents, the veggie burger was a popular one for me. Dad likes to buy those things in bulk… Costco.

I bought a box of Chili Chicken burgers from TJ’s as well as some brats… I think Justin will be appreciative when he comes to visit on Monday.

image

While I’ve been unpacking, I have been finding long lost goodies… like my iPod shuffle! Although I can’t listen to any internet radio — it’s nice and light to run with. I have been debating selling my iPhone. But now I think I’m just going to go for it… the shuffle is so easy to clip on my clothes.

image

Unfortunately due to my work schedule, Friday night is my Monday night. So I took my happy butt to bed early with a glass of Riesling and Grey’s Anatomy. Super crazy, right!?!

This morning, as I was backing out of my garage, my neighbors were still drinking beer on their patio. Nice. They raised their glasses at me and they all laughed. When your neighbors are still partying when you leave for work — you know you work too early. haha. Part of me wished I was them, but a larger part of me was glad that I’m not.

Spinning from a coffee overdose is intense enough without the hang over too.

I know this schedule won’t last forever. And for that I am thankful. But for now… Friday is the new Monday.

So, Happy Tuesday, friends! 🙂

XO

Paisley

Leave a Reply

