Giant Dipper

On Monday night, Justin arrived at my apartment. We quickly headed to Trader Joe’s for all the ingredients for these: Cherry Mojito’s.

image

Jacqueline accepted a drink as well. It was agreed, we’re definitely cherry-mojito fans.


I also made an easy dinner of sweet potato wedges and GF panini’s.

image

Can you tell I love my grill??

After dinner, and a few more Mojito’s… Sean, Jacqueline, Justin and I played a game…

image

I honestly can’t remember what it’s called. But here’s the basics: a “fill in the blank” (kind of like MadLibs) is put down. Each player puts a card face down that they think corresponds with the black “fill in the blank” card. The person, or judge then gets to flip over each card and decide which answer they like best. Whoever the card belongs to, they get the black card for that round. The one with the most black cards at the end of the game wins!

I didn’t think I was very funny at first, but soon got the hang of it. At some points I was laughing so hard that I was crying. It was an amazing Monday night. I’d say the first “roomie” night ever!! ๐Ÿ™‚

The next morning Jay and I headed to Santa Cruz. We spent a few hours on the beach. We wanted to stay far away from the boardwalk… but couldn’t resist any longer.

image

We found ourselves in a long line filled with excited high schoolers. I LOVE the Giant Dipper. I could ride it over and over again. I don’t know if the ride itself is the fun part… but I think it’s a mixture of all the Santa Cruz memories and great times that I’ve had there.

This day was no different.

image

And away we went!! WEEEE!

image

After the beach we went to CrossFit West Santa Cruz. I’ve been to that gym before, so I was excited to go back. Jay was stoked because it has this huge fake grass strip in the middle. It’s literally the “Disneyland” of CrossFit gyms.

We loved the gym and coaches both so much that we even bought their T-shirts! I’m not biased towards any CrossFit gyms… except for my home CrossFit Envy. But one of my favorite things to do is go and visit other gyms in different cities and states. I think it’s cool that almost every CrossFit gym has the same look and feel. Working out is only a small portion of CrossFit culture.

I’m especially fond of CrossFit West because while I was there on Tuesday, I learned that I didn’t actually lose my pull ups. They had AMAZING pull up bars (aka: the kind for small grip girls like me). I hopped right on and knocked out about 10. I jumped off and turned to Justin, “DID YOU SEE THAT!?!?!”

About a week ago I was really sad with myself because I couldn’t do pull ups at CF Campbell. Being that I took some time off from CrossFit, I immediately attributed this to a loss of strength. Although some of that is true, turns out it was a bar issue. I’m used to a smaller bar!

I’ve found a home at CrossFit Campbell here in San Jose. They don’t have the pull up bars that I’m used to — so my goal is to master pull ups at the big boy bars too. This whole idea proves my point that pull ups are a technique issue, not always a strength thing.

After CrossFit, Justin and I headed back to the apartment to wash off all the sand and sweat. And headed to dinner…

image

Wednesday morning it was back to work for the two of us. Bummer. But we had a great few days. I’m really starting to love the bay area. ESPECIALLY this 70 degree weather. I’ll take that all summer, yes please!

XO

Paisley

One thought on “Giant Dipper

  1. That sounds like so much fun! I haven’t done pull ups in a while, and I’m kind of scared to start again, but I should if I want that strong back. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I also LOVE party games like that! The one you guys played sounds like Apples to Apples with Madlibs mixed in ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

